After the tragic end of Can Tilang, the people settle farther from the coastline. October 16, 1856 was a day of indescribable sufferings. The survivors were snacked and sick. They were homeless and communally lived in Leantos. Many of them resettled back to Calagdaan and Panikian.
In spite of the news of the calamity with the grave conditions of the people, the Spanish Governor of Surigao, Don Fernando Gomez de Salazar, did not lift a finger to help the people. And the
Starvation was imminent everywhere, the ricefields and prowl were gone. Briefly the people had to make a beginning.
After the tragic moment
People procure food from Surigao, Butuan, Leyte, Bohol and Cebu through a palua. The procurements took a week or even a month because of poor transportation.
At Cebu diocese of the Holy Name of Cebu which Surigao province belong. Bishop Romualdo Gimeno, a Dominican, received a letter from Fr. Marzo of Cantilan about the sad state the people experienced. And reveals himself with deep concern. Because Can Tilang parish at that time of bishop Gimeno was always a good parish and the people were cooperative with the parish priest in al their activities and projects. They were favored because of this cooperation's.
The report of Father Marzo touches the bishop He sent through father Marzo P150 in silver, two boxes of clothing and 200 sacks of rice to aid the people.
Linintian and Magosilom
The destruction that tragically ended the old town made Linintian and Magosilom permanent settlements that now consists of the poblacion. The new town carried in some ways the name Can Tilang with a "g" written by Dr. Teodor Jagor, a German Scientist.
From the combined settlements of Linitian and Magosilom, the people spread later the sub settlements in Pangiwan-an, Pantalan, Mirable, Tapa, Baybay, CanMangpay, Embarcadero, Caparangan up to Cadusjan.
Years later as the population grows other places, other places in the interior places of Poypog, Malingin, Calagda-an, Dumoyog and other sitios.
In between endeavors with the farmers, he also concentrated on the improvement of the physical conditions of the community. Town zoning was not new to Cantilan then for father Marzo introduced it in 1857. With the introduction of town zoning the people were made to appreciate the beauty of wide streets, straight lines, equal blocking of areas and the pleasing characteristics of symmetry. There was nothing sought except for the cemented and graveled streets, which were plain earth before.
The death of Father Marzo
For over two decades of helping Cantilan. A day in 1778, Father Marzo died. The town mourned him for many weeks and months. His body was buried across the door of the church facing south of the old structure. It was only a few feet from the southern side of Ortega Street (formerly La Purisima Conception Street) and near the town plaza that the envisioned for the people.
After the death of Father Marzo, Father Angle Belleza in his administration that the initial construction of the present municipal building called the tribunal, he is the last recollect who runs the parish of Cantilan.
The Jesuits came
In 1871, seven years after before the death of Father Marzo, the Jesuits took over the Surigao mission from the recollects they founded eleven parishes. Surigao, Gigaquit, Cantilan, Tandag, Bislig, Mainit, Dinagat, Dapa, Numancia, Butuan and Banawan. About this year there were about thirty-three Christian settlements and sixteen outstation in Caraga.
Among the first thing the Jesuits was the establishments of an education institution for the upliftment of he people. They put of the first school for boys and girls in 1880. If the founders were still alive today, they would be proud because of its present growth and development.
The 1882 Cholera Epidemic
Some old people today through their parents told of the dreadful cholera that's so horrible. Those who died were in pitiful sights.
They were just wrapped in sleeping mats and thrown into the sea or dumped at the caves to Can Sarika island facing barrio Consuelo. In the settlements west and of he west of Cantilan, Thousand were also dumped in the cave of Panlanggan near Parang where the present irrigation tunnel is located. In other areas like Pnikian, Dinayhugan an Carrascal, the Dinayhugan cave is the dumping place of the dead.
Another destruction by TyphoonOn March 29, 1863, Cantilan was sincerely lashed by another typhoon. The 7 yr. Old community was again wrecked by a typhoon with reminded them about the tragic happening in Daan Lungsod the poblacion and in the farms from 9:00 am ended in night.
|Pre-Spanish Period | Spanish Period | Modern History | Carcanmadcarlan's History|
If you have some comments and suggestions click here .
Tilang Interactive Network© 2001
Best Viewed at 800x600px